Considering the purchase of a small home

Hello all,

I am a recent legal resident based on my marriage to my Lankan wife. We have tried for 4 years to obtain spousal visas to USA, my home. All have failed but we are still trying. So it is time to have the plan B of me living here most of the year.  We are now considering the purchase of a small home. We have her sons in BCI College, So Negombo area is required. I understand I am not allowed to purchase a home and land here, so it must be in my wifes name.

Questions are: Are land surveys typically done prior to purchase? Title searches also must be done, and only local Attornies can prepare the documents? Any suggestions would be welcome!!

@Marys man

Hello Marys man,

Please note that I have created a new thread from your post on the Sri Lanka forum so that members can advise. The other thread was about working professionals regulations.

Have you contacted any notary yet ?

Regards

Bhavna