Remote work & visa

Hi everyone,

My name is Kim and I'm researching my options to be able to work in Scotland. I want to move to Scotland as my boyfriend is Scottish and lives there. I'm Dutch (Netherlands) so unfortunately due to Brexit I'll now need a visa to work.

I'm an innovation manager at a Dutch corporate at the moment, and unfortunately they don't have any branches in the UK. So I'm afraid I'll have to quit my job and find a local one. So far, I've come to three options:

• I find a local job with visa sponsorship. From my research so far, it doesn't seem that there are many jobs out there willing to provide a sponsorship. But maybe I'm looking in all the wrong places.. Where can I best look for these kind of jobs?
  • I work remotely for a "remote company" (after corona there are many out there). For example, I work for a Dutch company but I can work fulltime from Scotland. But I'm really not sure how that works, and what is possible / what the rules are for example regarding tax. Does anyone know more about this?
  • I start a new company (in the UK) and apply for a startup visa. I have been working on a new concept and I've got some savings to follow this path. Yet, it feels a bit too soon to actually embark on this journey. However, it could be an easy way towards a visa? Anyone has experience with this?

Many questions! Any advice and tips would be most welcome.

Thank you 1f64f.svg

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

What you are considering is not impossible, but not easy.  There are many different work visas you can consider; this link will take you to the UK Gov website where they are all listed.  To answer your specific questions:

• Best place to look.  I'd recommend LinkedIn; reach out to your peers and colleagues who already do what you do, but here in the UK.  Speak to them and find out who is hiring, where that is and how much they are paying.