Animal-related opportunities in Iceland for a US vet tech?

Hello (or hallo ^_^) everyone!

My name is Amanda and I'm currently in my first year of study to become a veterinary technician. For this upcoming summer break we have to do a 300 hour externship at any place of our choosing. And the thing is, even though I've never actually been to Iceland, I love almost everything about the country. I've had an interest in it for a long time, and I'd LOVE to do something there.

I've tried researching animal-related jobs there but have come up with scant results.

Is there even such a place in Iceland where I could do an externship such as this? A few things though; I'm not fluent in Icelandic, would more than likely have to have housing provided along with SOME kind of income. I know this is probably a far-fetched thing to expect, but hey, I can dream. :)

Also, as I plan to move to Iceland someday, is there a demand for vet techs at all? Or is there even a good amount of animal-related jobs in general?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! ^_^

I'd say the first thing for you to know is that the word for vet in Icelandic is dýralæknir. If you google that, there are tons of results that are vet offices(Dýralækningastofa). You might try writing to some of them to find out if they do such a thing.

if you're able/interested/willing to work with larger animals, there are tons of sheep here, obviously. You'd probably not be based in RVK if you were to handle them.

you also could try asking this place if they've got ideas:

http://www.kattholt.is/displayer.asp?FA … SP\Pg0.asp

it's sort of like an animal shelter that specializes in cats only. I figure you like cats based on your profile.