Looking for decent friends in beijing

hi there, iam a female beijinger and i work at CBD. Since i graduated from school, i rarely speak english. but i do love this language. so i hope i could find some friends here to pratice english with me. in return, id like to show u my city and the local people's lifestyle:)
looking forward to hearing u.

Hi,

I moved to Beijing about 2 weeks ago from California and would like to meet nice new people. So far, I've mostly only met foreigners like me, but I did not come here to meet a bunch of white people, lol. My boyfriend is Chinese, but I need to make some friends of my own.

I will start working soon, but I will have a lot of free time. I live next to the Sihui subway station. Maybe we could meet up for coffee or something.

I don't speak much Chinese yet, but I am looking for a school that fits into my schedule. Then we can do some language exchange too.

A little bit about me: I'm 33, American, vegetarian, friendly but shy at first, love music, and just want to enjoy life in my new city.

Hope to talk to you soon,
Shawna (or ShongNa)

Smile and Shong Na (maybe Xiong Na) suggest you both try the various Networking events.

Most Chambers of Commerce have monthly events - might be better fit though for Smile since the majority are foreigners. The Fortune Connection Club (FC Club)events attract approximately an equal number of foreigners and Chinese.

Shawna, habits are hard to break. Chinese people that I have known for yonks still insist on using English. Newer friends are happy to let me torture their language. In short Chinese friends yes but try as soon as possible to stop using 100% English.

Thanks for the tips, Manlin. For now, I'm stuck with English; I can't even spell my name, lol. I will look up the events. I am definitely not shying away from anyone, including my fellow foreigners. I'll take all the friends I can get!