Urine test for new employment in Vietnam

I've recently arrived in Ho Chi Minh City, after being offered employment as an ESL Instructor at a language institution. In order to complete the required work documents, I must have a health check-up, in which a urine test will be administered at a local hospital. Admittedly, I've been a regular cannabis smoker for years, but have not indulged since being offered the position (a little more than a week ago). As I am now in Vietnam, I've grown concerned that this may possibly hinder my new employment. Should I be worried and take extra precautions to pass my health exam or am I being paranoid about this one job requirement?

Thank you for any advice or tips you can offer!

Hey!

I'm currently an English teacher in Ha Long Bay, and had to do a medical test in Hanoi. It's very thorough and intense. They take a blood sample, urine test, ultrasound (to see your organs) sight test, dental test, throat, nose and ear test, general test (includes breathing) and a chest X Ray. They pick up on everything - they told my friend she didn't have enough red blood cells (she had recently gotten food poisoning). If you are found having drugs in your system I would probably say they will not let you work in the country from what I know, so I would take extra precaution if you want to go ahead with the test.

Good luck and all the best!

Amelia Whitehead

Cannabis, specifically THC, can be detected in urine for up to two months after stopping regular use.  I doubt that a week will do it.   Are you sure that the urine test is for drugs?  Perhaps it is for things related to kidney functions.   The exam is really a general health exam and includes things that you might not expect in an employment physical in the West.