US trained nurse seeking to move to France

Hi all:

I am new to this forum. I am a nurse trained in the US who now wishes to work and live in France. I am finding it difficult to find information about how to get an equivalent diploma to work in France. I guess I would also need a "permis de sejour" or visa. Does anyone have any insight into how to go about that? I hear it is almost impossible to get a job in France...I would also like to communicate with someone who is bilingual (English-French).

Ciao.

mlazarre

Hi mlazarre,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

I have moved your topic on the France forum for better visibility.

I suggest you to have a look at the life in France guide.

I wish you good luck
Christine

Hi there,

I'm not quite sure why you would want to move to a place where you'll make half the money, pay twice the taxes and have a hard time finding a job, anyways, to each his own as they say.

I found the following information for you:

1) If your nursing degree was obtained in a country outside of the EU your degree is not recognized in France and the following applies to you:

Si vous êtes originaire d'autres pays, le diplôme extracommunautaire dont vous êtes titulaire n'est pas reconnu en France pour l'exercice de la profession d'infirmier.
Les articles 27 et suivants de l'arrêté du 28 mai 2009 relatif au Diplôme d'Etat d'infirmier précisent la conduite à tenir pour les titulaires d'un DE infirmier étranger. Trois épreuves (une épreuve écrite d'admissibilité et deux épreuves orales et pratiques d'admission) permettent à un jury de déterminer les dispenses de scolarité dont vous pouvez bénéficier. Le directeur de l'Institut de Formation en Soins Infirmiers, après avis du conseil pédagogique détermine les unités d'enseignements ou les stages acquis
Dans l'attente, vous pouvez solliciter une autorisation auprès d'une Délégation Territoriale de l'Agence Régionale de Santé du département où vous souhaitez exercer votre profession