Tax return form help

Hi all,
I'm new to this, so I could use any available help.
I'm a US citizen living in Greece since from the age of 5 and I'm thinking of moving back to the USA, to be more specific, California. I am married to a citizen outside the US, we have two daughters (aged 8 and 13), they became US citizens in 2017, through my mother who lives in the US, all her life.
I have never filed a tax return and my question is, do I have to file for the last 3-5 years (so I have read) or do I have to wait until I move and get a job? If the answer is yes, how do I file a joint tax return when my wife doesn't have an SSN?

Thank you very much in advance.
Regards
Matthew

matfren wrote:

Hi all,
I'm new to this, so I could use any available help.
I'm a US citizen living in Greece since from the age of 5 and I'm thinking of moving back to the USA, to be more specific, California. I am married to a citizen outside the US, we have two daughters (aged 8 and 13), they became US citizens in 2017, through my mother who lives in the US, all her life.
I have never filed a tax return and my question is, do I have to file for the last 3-5 years (so I have read) or do I have to wait until I move and get a job? If the answer is yes, how do I file a joint tax return when my wife doesn't have an SSN?

Thank you very much in advance.
Regards
Matthew

Matthew, you have some technical questions and the answers will depend on many factors.  I recommend you make an appointment at the U.S. Embassy in your area to get clarification. 

I can give you some general advice, but you need to understand that each person has unique circumstances and depending on the facts, the answers may be different.  However, here is some general guidance:

1. You are a U.S. citizen but your spouse is not a U.S. citizen.