Resident in Germany, working remotely for the UK

Hi all,

For the life of me I am scouring the internet to find answers! Here is the situation:
- I am an Australian citizen (left Oz 2 years ago, unfortunately not planning on living back there in the foreseeable future)
- I have +10 years experience as an Executive Assistant/Personal Assistant
- I am a resident of Germany (Aufenthaltstitel) which will require renewal in 2024
- A company in the UK is willing to hire me as their Virtual PA, with 100% remote work. I may fly into the UK on an adhoc basis as required

So I'm super confused on what to do! Particularly with:
- Do I need to register myself as a freelancer/self-employed? Or is there another category?
- If so, which category would I be?
- Is it German tax I pay? I'm not earning money from Germany, and I'm giving the German Tax Office money through VAT included in all expenses by normal living

Thank you so much!

Since you have no employer that can fulfil the German statutory requirements, you are classified as freelancer/self-employed. Please note that this will involve a lot of administrative and formal complications (business and VAT registration, accountancy, billing, taxation, all in German language of course), for which you may have to engage professional help (for a fee). This was discussed several times before on the forum.

Income tax is generally paid where the work is performed (not where payment is made). I assume the tax treaty with UK prevents it from being taxed again in UK - but you better check that (and engage a good tax consultant to sort things out for you!).
Whether you think VAT alone is taxation enough does not change the fact that legislation says otherwise!

Fantastic thank you! Do you happen to know which I would be? Freelancer, or Gewerbeanmeldung, or something else? From what I can gather, there is multiple different types of essentially being 'self-employed'