Job opportunities for foreigners in Vietnam

I have been reading about many interesting things about Vietnam and wish to relocate to Vietnam from Nigeria only if I am assured of getting a job (not necessarily a high class job to start up).   I am a Professional Accountant, Auditor and experienced banker who has had more than 15 years work experience. I am a vibrant and socialite humble man of early sixty, friendly and honest wit track records. I will appreciate any useful information that can assist me. Thanks

You sound like a good man with a lot of experience under your belt so this is not easy to say but unless you can speak Vietnamese quit fluently I'm pretty sure you are going to find it almost impossible to find work it your area of experience. Even if you spoke fluently, I'm afraid most companies here are going to favor locals and the pay scale here is likely to be far below what you would expect. Most of the expats here either teach English or are retired. Another thing is most people here retire at 55 so even if you manage to get past the other hurdles companies will be reluctant to employ someone at your age.  I'm sorry to be the barrer of bad news but it's better if you find out before you pack up and move here.

@drutter

Grateful for your candid advice.

@sundaybetiku

I know it probably isn't what you wanted to hear but maybe it's what you needed to hear. Eather way, I hope it helps.

Surely it gives a realistic information which bother on language and age. Thank you once again for this. I will keep following up with developments and give a deeper thought on other options which may not necessarily be Vietnam, even though it's quite appealing to me. Thanks and warmest regards.

@sundaybetiku

No problem. Happy to help. I hope you find what you're looking for.

@drutter

Will you be willing to teach me Vietnamese?

Am willing to learn.

@drutter