Geoblue Health Insurance

I have BCBS through my retirement benefits.  When I called to let them know I was moving to Portugal, they said my plan would change to GeoBlue.  I'm not at all familiar with that name.  Does anyone here use GeoBlue?  Is it any good?  My understanding is that for most visits, I would pay the provider out of pocket and then file a claim with GeoBlue.

I'm just trying to determine if I need to purchase a health insurance plan when I get there or if GeoBlue would be okay to keep.

Thank you.

Hi Jim,

Some info here:

https://www.geobluetravelinsurance.com/ … ntryId=144

(Select city, right side, maybe health providers available there that accept this insurance)

@Jim Garrison

Jim- I have no specific knowledge of Geo blue. However, as a physician who has practiced in the US for 35 years, I can unequally state that I would never trust a US health insurance company. The reasons for this are two numerous and varied. Suffice to say, they will gladly accept your premiums but will make every effort to  thwart payment/reimbursement.

Private health insurance is quite cheap compared to US standards and is less than €80 a month, even for people in their 70s.

Good Luck!

Hi Jim,

I realise you're not allowed to advertise but can you tell me where you get/ found your private health insurance and does that include repatriation?

My husband (61) and myself (54) can't find a basic cover (NOT including dental) for less than €3850 for a couple.

Also, when we die, neither if us are bothered about being buried/cremated in the U.K.  Does anyone know if we can be buried/cremated in Portugal and if we can and ensure we have a plan in place, would there still be a need for our health insurance to include repatriation?

Thanks,

Diane.

@Diane,

Ask your questions at a funeral establishment. I suggest Servilusa. Unfortunately, I called on them and realised that they are very competent.

They have funeral plans in Life.

https://funeralvida.servilusa.pt/