New immigration policy ... again (2 Jul 12)

This morning, I was stopped at the immigration counter and told that if I do not have a return ticket to my home country, I cannot enter HCMC!!! In lieu of that, I need a visa.

I have been coming in and out of HCMC every month for the past 6 years. Never happened before. ASEAN visitors can stay for a month - so what's with this nonsense again???? Of course, I'm told all will be fine if I pay a "fine" - what else is new here?

My friend arrived last Friday without a return ticket - and went thru with no problem. Today, I saw the immigration officers asking for proof of return tickets at 2 counters.

Can anyone enlighten us on this newest policy?

There is no new policy as such, just different practices as reinforced differently from staff to staff.

Two weeks ago, I told the immigrant officer that I would fly out the next day (which was true). He accepted it without protest.

Last week, I was asked that I needed to show return ticket even I told them I would fly out soon. I told them I didn't have it yet. He complained and said I needed one. I told him I had been in and out of the country for so many times all without overstaying. He let me in without further complaints.

Having said so, if you enter a country under the visa exemption rule, you should be prepared to show either your ability to support yourself in the country (enough cash, hotel reservation/prepayment) AND/OR return ticket.

I have seen it practiced in many other countries, including the US and various European/Asian countries.

A lot depends on your country of origin, Ask Indian and Nigerian nationals.

I suspect you didn't arrange your stopover (transit) through your airline. They arrange for your passport to be retained and a piece of paper issued by immigration permits you to remain within so many kilometres of the airport and to stay at an airport area hotel.