Anyone have a rough idea how long it takes to buy a house in Romania?

Hi. We're moving out to the Sibiu area later this year - when we've sold our current house. Anyone have an idea how long conveyancing takes in Romania? In Britain it can be between 6 & 12 weeks if you're lucky but I have no idea what time scale to expect over there. Advise would be very welcome. Thanks, Sue & Robin.

Hello,

I'm not an expert on the matter but I bought a flat over here a few years back and so went through a similar process. It actually seems a lot simpler than in the UK, especially as there are generally no chains in play.

The buying process took virtually no time at all. After choosing the property and negotiating the price I sat down with the estate agent and signed a pre-contract with them. This basically guarantees double your deposit (around 5%) back if the vendor pulls out, loss of the deposit if you, the buyer, pulls out, and stipulates the duties and fees of the agent (assuming you're using an agent). It also sets out the period of time within which the sale contract should be signed and payment made.

About a week later we (buyer, seller, agent) met up and went through the contract and related documents. The most important of these is the 'circa financiara' which identifies the legal owner of the property and whether there are any outstanding disputes or debts on it. This document, when requested from the authorities, only has a validity of a few days so it must be up-to-date and in the original.

Once you are happy with these documents you can go together to the notary public, who'll check the contract and the various documents to ensure they are all above board and then sign off on the contract after witnessing the exchange of money. We actually went to the bank with the notary and did it there.

Once you've signed the sale contract the property is yours. In my case, the time from first visiting the contract to moving in was about three weeks.