Mining Industry

Hey folks! my boyfriend and me we wanna go to perth nex year in summer...ill be doing an internship over there and my man wants to work, so some friends of us told us that he could gain an insane amount of money in a short time in the mining industry, is that true?does someone maybe know anything about it? i mean mining industry sounds like he has to work in the mines for 2 weeks and then he has to weeks off, is it lie that? does anyone have experience with this? thank you very much in advance for your help, cheerio, Tatjana :)

Welcome to the forum MissTaty :)

I hope other members will bring their input concerning the mining industry around Perth.

Regards ;)

MissTaty,

I am not currently in Perth, Wa but im trying to get over as well for the mining industry. Im a Geologist and am looking for a job. I can tell you that most jobs are set up on a rotation, 2 wks on: 1 off or 12 days on: 5 off something along those lines. Some of the jobs you can drive to but others you will be flown in and flown out called (fly in/ fly out). I would assume getting to Perth then finding a job would be much more promising or more of a Guarantee.

Hi All,
I moved here from Texas and now am living in Perth, moved here 3 1/2 yrs ago, and have worked in the mining recruitment sector. So I can tell you a little about the mining industry.

There's two areas you can have a look at:
remote construction site (usually two weeks on, two weeks off- flyin/fly out, sometimes 4 weeks on two off).
Or remote mine site (usually two weeks on 1 week off, or 9 days on and 5 days off)