General assistance in moving

Good day to all,

I write with the wish to inquire into the steps that I would have to take to move to Italy.

My goal is to have a small homestead/farm which would support a local community with produce, but also, serve as a venue for functions as well.
However, I know that opening a business overseas is easier said than done, and if it is more feasible to work first, I shall do that.
I have experience in subsistence farming and am currently studying horticulture to further my knowledge.  However, I have extensive experience in the tourism industry where I've worked as an outdoor guide/instructor in survival skills and historical reenactments.  This is possibly my greatest strength and I would be excited to find work within this sector.
My other skills include tree-felling, and general handyman work - which all comes with being a farmer.

I am very diverse in what I can do but I have no idea how to start my venture in Italy.  I would like to know if there is a direction I can be pointed to, either a person or place that could help me.  Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.  I am South African and if there are fellow South Africans who have been successful in moving there, I'd love to hear that paths you took in getting there.

Kind regards!

Hi Benjamin Coetzee,

Welcome to Expat.com and thank you for your detailed post.  :top:

As you wish to move to Italy, i would first of all advise you to go through the living in Italy expat guide, it will definitely give you some starting information on the procedures that you need to undertake.
You will also find a dedicated article on the italian labour market in the same guide as well as an interesting article  on starting a business in Italy.
You may also get in touch with the embassy of Italy in South Africa for further information.

I also hope that some south Africans will get back to you very soon.  :idontagree:

When are you planning to move ?
Have you been to Italy before?