Menu
Expat.com

ACRO CAUTION CRIMINAL RECIRD DELETED

Last activity 11 April 2024 by MrBigglesworth

Espanacarinios

My 20 year old caution has just been expunged / deleted by ACRO . They confirmed this via email after I requested that my caution be deleted . They stated that my fingerprints and biometrics have been deleted forever. It took about three months.

My question is when a apply for a new police clearance certificate must I disclose my past caution on the application form or should I answer NO where it asks if I was cautioned previously.

Anyone please advise. Thank you in advance

GuestPoster2492

Im no expert but from my understand on this...

If it was expunged you would have no further action but still have an arrest on your record. If it was deleted you would have no arrest or caution.

It think it would depend on what the visa asks, Spain asks "do you have a criminal record" for example which you now answer no to.

I believe your acro cert will now show no trace apposed to no live trace though, so I would guess there is no way of anyone knowing anything about it either way.

gwynj

@Espanacarinios

Their concern is criminal convictions (especially if they came with custodial sentences). Cautions are irrelevant (even more so if they've been deleted).

GuestPoster2492

@gwynj

Hi, I have a caution from 10/15 years ago. My acro states no live trace. I've been really worried about this with hopes of retiring to spain in the comming years.

With that in mind can I ask how sure are you / any info on the fact that cautions are irrelevant?

Thank you

gwynj

@asuch87

Quietly confident. :-)

If you're worried, I believe ACRO allows you to request both your certificate, and make a Subject Access Request so that they disclose all info held about you, even if it doesn't show on your certificate.

Then, in the event that anybody asks you, you also have the official document to show them.

GuestPoster2492