Rental lease and obtaining a D7 visa for Portugal

Hello, this is my first time posting a question. I'm planning on retiring to Portugal and have done a lot of reading but haven't started paperwork yet.  I've read several times that it takes about a year to get the D7 visa and whatever else you need to live there. I've also read that to get the visa, you have to have a one-year lease. If these things are accurate, how do you get a landlord to give you a lease that won't start for a year -- that is, the year it takes to get a visa? Maybe what I've read is wrong. But if someone

Could explain this, I'd be very appreciative!

Thank You,

Maureen

My experience was that my D7 visa approval took 6 weeks from application. Getting the appointment took 3 months (USA). 

My residency permit was issued 6 weeks after the Visa. The timing on the appointment date depends on where you are applying (the country and the local consulate). Timing on the residency permit depends upon the local office in Portugal you are assigned  (rural is less booked and quicker)

My experience with the lease was that a Landlord is only going to give you a lease that starts around when you execute the lease. Some people do a lease for a small room at a very low cost. A one year lease in Portugal can be cancelled after 7 months under rent control.

Wow!  6 weeks seems pretty fast to me, but the scene changes constantly.

At any rate, you can live in your Portugal accommodations before you get a resident visa.  Common tourist "visa" that you automatically get when you arrive is limited to 90 days, but if you haven't used up much of it already, you could still be here when the visa comes through.  The resident visa is then good for 4 months if I remember right, and you're supposed to be able to get into an immigration interview during that time.