Coming to Bangkok

If all goes as planned. I'll be moving to Bangkok in May. I'm just starting to research the city and what might be great places to live, though it's a tad bit confusing. I won't be tied to a job and am looking to keep my rent below 15,000 baht.

As a newcomer and first timer to the city, are there areas that totally make sense for me? I'm open to my own place and possibly sharing with one other person.

Thanks for you help in advance.

Can anybody recommend the best areas to concentrate my apartment search?

I'm an author and will be spending most of days writing. A little night life every now and then would be good. I will work in sightseeing and a trip to south and to Cambodia but most of my six month stay will be dedicated to writing.

I've been living in BKK for about 15 years. IMO, the key to a sane existence in this city, is having a sanctuary, (comfortable home/apartment), that you can retreat to when the need arises. Since that need arises often, the necessity of finding a suitable crib in BKK is paramount to healthy living.

Under 15,000 Baht shouldn't be a problem, tho I would suggest that finding something close to the SkyTrain is more important than price.  If the location you select means a short walk or mototaxi ride to the nearest station that's a huge plus.

On Nut might be a good place to start. Many apts to choose from and just across the street from Lotus. Has a large open air market area that sells all sort of goodies.  Fantastic eye candy there any time of day. Udom Suk is great, loads of new apartments and loads more under construction.  Probably a little cheaper (and quieter), than On Nut. Friendly, safe and Topps (food store) and Central Dept Store are not far.

Thanks, Fre33dom.  I'll look into those areas. Good advice about making my place comfortable, even more so since I'll be spending a lot of time there.