Looking for a way out of Scotland

Ok, that sounds worse than it is. Scotland is lovely but being from California and having lived in Sweden and Scotland I am looking for a little more sunshine. Currently it's snowing here in Scotland, which I like, what I don't like are the endless days of gray dricht (scottish for horrible, drizzling, and cold) weather. My wife is Russian so Australia is too hot for her. I know this because my Dad lives in Arizona and when we visited I literally saw my lovely wife melt, a puddle, just a spot on the floor. She went to the pool and we never got her out of it. So I think New Zealand is a nice compromise. I've had friends and colleagues visit there and they loved it.

I am a university lecturer in biology and my wife has degrees as a preschool teacher and also in teaching and translating English. What are our chances of finding employment in  NZ.

Cheers,
Mike

Welcome on Expat-blog Mike! :) You can have a look at the Work in New Zealand guide.
Hope this helps

Good luck
Christine

Thanks Christine, I'll take a look.

I would also love to know other people's opinions about living and working in New Zealand.

What are the day care centres like? My wife has a degree in early childhood education.

Where would you choose to live?

Is it easy to make friends? I know that's hard to answer, but we are fairly outgoign and like outdoor activities. We love bike riding, the beach, hiking. My son (10 yrs old) is a very good football (soccer) player, well at least in his Dad's mind.

My wife is also an artist, are there any good art communities in New Zealand? I'm sure there are, what I mean to ask is where are the art communities in New Zealand?

Cheers,
Mike

Mike - I feel your pain.  We are a South African family living just outside of Glasgow and can't wait to get out of Scotland either. 

Coming from Cape Town - we've realised that we need more sun as well.  I'm just hoping that Auckland isn't too cold.