Menu
Expat.com

those of you with spouses with a different mother tongue..

Last activity 14 September 2012 by singapinay

ECS

whose language do you speak on a daily basis? Yours? Theirs? A third language entirely?

Can you speak each other's languages?

Miscellaneous

My Husband is German, I am South African. He can speak English and I am learning German.  He speaks German to the Children and I speak english to them....

lezah20

I speak the language I'm used to.

sanbo

my husband is italian and i am south african. He speaks italian with my duaghter and I am still learning. We speak english.

moiz

i speak a language which is the language of mountains and a very rare one called brushaski ..spoken in hunza near china border of pakistan side

schnupper

I'm German and my husband is American, but he understand German and speaks a little too. When I first moved to Hawaii I was too shy to speak English at all, so I'd talk German to him, but he would talk English to me, which I could understand. That lasted for a few months until I finally started to naturally slip into English. Nowadays I only talk in German to him if I don't want anyone else to understand what I'm saying wink.png (which can actually really backfire... even in the middle of the Pacific there will always be someone who understands what you're saying)

leeanne

I am a Malaysian chinese and my husband is a Japanese. He doesn't understand chinese, yet I don't know Japanese at all. Basically, we speak english to each others; Since last Oct, he been transferred back to Japan, and I been "pushed" to learn his language to survive in this "1 nation country".

worldcitizeninrome

I was born in India to parents who are both Indian but speak completely different languages, so we spoke English at home and I only ever learnt English.

I moved to Canada, because Canadian and thought I should learn French, but it was difficult, no one outside of Quebec and Ottawa seems to speak French.