Rental proof for SEF appointment

Hey guys,

I have my D& Visa and I am in Portugal already but my SEF appointment is April 2024. So I have been paying my landlord since October 2023 based on my rental booking date at Uniplaces even though I fled to Portugal just in December 2023 (just to ensure that I get the accommodation) single room in Porto. It is for 600 EUR per month and I also paid security deposit on top of that.

The rental agreement was only documented in the Certificate of Accommodation issued to me by Uniplaces (showing October 2023 to October 2024) which is one year.

My concern is that the mode of payment has always been informal via WISE and WhatsApp chat and I never received any receipt for my payments till now. I intend to live in this residence long term or even for 3 years.

Is this certificate of accommodation and the Attestado de Morada issued to me by my local parish (Junta) sufficient to satisfy the lease document(s) required by SEF appointment?

Welcome to Portugal.

Cash is king.

Pay in cash without receipt, or pay increased rent with a receipt. 

Your choice.

Paying in cash is not a crime.

Welcome to Portugal.Cash is king.Pay in cash without receipt, or pay increased rent with a receipt.  Your choice.Paying in cash is not a crime.        -@slugsurmamates

I am fine if that won't be a problem at SEF. I just don't want unpleasant surprises and that's why I must prepare for things this.

So what do I get to show SEF officials when they ask for lease proof or lease tax registration?

I have read things like that happens during SEF appointment. (Correct me if I am wrong).

What's your experience with that on your first SEF appointment?

@bloggerblogger

You will have a rental contract as proof.

@SimCityAT To my knowledge the rental contract needs to be registered with the authorities.

@SimCityAT To my knowledge the rental contract needs to be registered with the authorities.        -@TGCampo

How do you register the rental contract?