Building a house in vietnam

My spouse have a 600 meter squared of vacant land on the out skirts of Ho Chi Minh, I want to produce plans then build a single storey house on this vacant land by myself.
Have anyone here had similar experience? If so, can you give a run down of what permit and license you will need before you can start building.   
For example:
Do you need a local builder license to build a house in privately owned land?
Do you need building permit from government to build a residential house in country side?
What are some of the rule and regulation you need to follow?

I am a structural engineer by trade but would love to build a dream house overseas without too much legal restriction like in Australia.

Thanks in advance.

charlie54 wrote:

My spouse have a 600m squared of vacant land on the out skirts of Ho Chi Minh, I want to build a house on the vacant land by myself from scratch.
Have anyone here had similar experience? If so, can you give a run down of what permit and license you will need.
For example:
Do you need a local builder license to build a house in your spouse's land?
Do you need building permit to build a 2 storey house in country side?

I am a structural engineer by trade but would love to build a house overseas without too much legal restriction like in Australia.

Thanks in advance.

You want to actually build it by hand, or sub-contract the work out.

brick by brick

I want to build it by hand from scratch :)
From foundation, framing, cladding, roofing and possibly plumbing, electrical services if regulation allows.

As a structural engineer, you of all people should have an appreciation of how many man-years are involved in building even a modest single story house.  I think you should rather quickly realize that you want to be the prime contractor while subbing out the component parts.  That way you can control quality without being tied to manual labor for what likely would be well over a year working full time.