Menu
Expat.com

Primary Schools in Frankfurt

Last activity 05 August 2023 by TominStuttgart

bingvie

HI all, I am new to Frankfurt, and wonder if anyone has any suggestions for my kids, 8 years and 6 years old for good schools. I'm thinking of bilingual schools, international school, good public schools, if you have any recommendations, please kindly let me know, many thanks for your help. Best regards, bing

beppi

I don't know the Frankfurt school scene, but can add some generic remarks (most of which have been discussed in detail in other threads, which you should read!):

• Private schools in Germany are expensive (at least 1000€/month per child) and not necessarily better than public ones.
  • Bilingual schools are geared towards German students learning more English, not foreigners learning German. This might now be what your kids need.
  • Public schools are genarally good (and of very similar standard,so there is no need to shop around) and free of charge, but all teaching is in German. Some offer "integration classes" to bring foreign kids up to speed (not only in the language).
TominStuttgart

Nearly all public schools are fine. In many countries the public schools tend to be bad and the only way to get a good education is at private school. This is not true in Germany. One doesn't really get a choice though. One goes to the one assigned to you, usually the nearest one that has space. For children with special needs or say they don't speak German yet and need remedial help with the language then it is possible a school a bit farther away might be decided to be the one best suited.