Cyprus banks

I am using Hellenic Bank as I have to have a Cypriot bank as we all know. As Hellenic are so bad and take days to transfer money in and out plus charge for everything I was wondering if all Cypriot banks are stuck in the 70's with regard to service and electronic transfers? Does anyone use another bank that can actually make same day payments without having to pay extra? Or do not charge for withdrawing my money at their ATM?

Hi Phil,

I've been using Hellenic since we got here 6 years ago. I've never been cherged for withdrawing funds from an ATM, unless I use another bank's ATM - and then it's the other bank that charges. Online transfers within the SEPA are free up to €1000 or €1200, and other transfers cost €3.

Do you have an account with the international banking unit?? If so, that's the problem. You need to move the account, if possible, to a local Hellenic branch.

From what I have seen and checked on other bank's websites, Hellenic is about the best in Cyprus.  BofC and Alpha bank definitely charge way more.

@phildraper

As far as I am aware all Cyprus banks charge for someone else's card use in their ATMs....

Just found out last week that the yellow and blue euronet atms don't charge for local cards or Revolut cards (within revolut card free ATM withdrawal limits and not weekends) ive  tried it in protaras and pegeia so far  all good

@martin65150

I agree Martin despite their charges Hellenic are the better of the mainstream Cyprus banks imo. .. It's their ever increasing charges that persuaded me to ditch local banks completely.. but I feel the pain of those who for immigration requirements must keep a local account.

Fitch Ratings has upgraded Hellenic Bank's credit rating and outlook, citing improved operating conditions and a stronger credit profile.

https://cyprus-mail.com/2023/11/03/fitc … 1699086809

@Toon

Toon, morning,