Maslarevo and Orehovitsa

Good Morning Everyone,

I'm a newbie here and have loads of questions, but I'll kick off with just one. Does anyone have any information on Maslarevo or Orehovitsa i.e, what it's like to live in those places? I've looked on Youtube and on estate agents' sites and gleaned a bit of information but there's no substitute for insider info from someone who lives in either of those places.

I'm retired and looking to buy a property in Bulgaria, initially as a holiday home. I've lived abroad 15 years in France - before, so I'm aware of some of the problems that could befall someone living abroad, but some of my subsequent posts will reveal a few of my concerns with regard to Bulgaria.

By the way, are the estate agents over there a bit tardy? I've been trying to set up some viewings prior to booking flights, hotels, car hire etc., but it's been like getting blood out of a stone.

Cheers.

Welcome!

First of all, there are no "estate agents" in Bulgaria - the whole industry is unregulated and there are only property brokers, who can set up, and shut down, shop as and when they feel like it.  Pirating property listings from other brokers' sites is commonplace.  It's also common to find that they don't bother replying to emails; luckily, almost everyone in BG uses the Viber app, so download that on your mobile and add the brokers you're interested in to your Contacts.  You can then make free voice and video call, send and receives files etc.

Be VERY careful: there's fraud and skulduggery galore out there, so never let your guard down, regardless of how honest/trustworthy etc someone may appear.  There's no comeback against lawyers or notaries either, so check EVERYTHING very carefully.

Lastly, don't be put off by anything above: it's perfectly possible to find and buy your dream home if you don't allow yourself to get carried away by your own enthusiasm!