Working in UK, living in Bulgaria.

Hello all,
My partner ( soon to be wife) and I are set on retiring in Bulgaria however....
I will be working in the UK for a month then back in Bulgaria a month, and repeating this pattern for a few years.
Can we still go under the Retiree option on the D type visa?

I'm 55 and my partner is 58. She has an early retirement pension, as do I, but I'll be earning about £4000 pcm.

Would temporary residency cover me coming in and out of the country 12 times a year?

I'm a nurse by trade so I'll be live-in caring or just agency / Bank with a couple of employers. If any of you kind people have experience of this I'd be grateful of your feedback on pitfalls and positive outcomes.

Rob

If your partner has a pension it's possible to apply for D visa on that basis.

If you are travelling back and forward monthly you may not exceed 90 days in 180 so you potentially wouldn't even need a visa at this point. But I've not yet heard of anyone post Brexit obtaining D visa based on self sufficiency. There are other posts in this forum where income figures or amounts of cash in the bank required will supposedly secure the visa. Also last I heard only certain categories of visa are being processed at the moment, and I don't believe retirement is one of them.

I'm not sure what you mean by temporary residency, it needs to be renewed periodically whoever you are, some people are granted longer than others.

That's great advice thank you.
I'll keep an eye out on the embassy website - might even ring them in London for direct info.

I've lived in NZ previously, so know the hoops to jump through and the misleading info from their embassy too!

As 1 of us will be retiring and 1 of us still working, I'm tempted to rent somewhere 1st and then apply. In my limited experience, countries love tax payers.