Menu
Expat.com

Moving to Amman this month

Last activity 12 July 2012 by umm jacoub

ajd

Hi there, My partner and I will be moving from Wales to Amman on the 29th of June. She has signed a contract to work with a company and will be working from an office in City Mall.

First of all, will we have lots of choice in terms of renting an apartment...(budget 500 JOD a month)? any advice anyone?

I am a qualified TEFL teacher...but without a degree....Will I be able to find teaching work? private tuition or in a language school?
I will be given a residency, but no work permit. Will I be able to obtain a work permit?

Ive heard that expats have to own 'newish' cars by law... is this really the case?  Will I be able to find a decent used car for around 5000 JOD?

I love to play Squash, football and rugby, if anyone else here does, would love to play sometime. Or if anybody has information on local clubs I can join.

Many thanks all, hope to meet some of you soon!

a_alnahar

first i want to tell you welcome to jordan,and you can find an appartment within your budget,but regarding the car you can find car but it will not be new it will be like 97-98.
if there is any thing you want to ask about just just send msg.

ajd
DoveOmeri wrote:

Gosh! I wish there was a law that said I had to own a new car! lol (not laughing at you,just thought it was too cute to pass up commenting on)                                                               WELCOME TO JORDAN!!

What i heard was that Expats have to have cars that arent older than 5 years.....  cane you confirm that this ISNT true please?

many thanks indeed!  smile.png

ajd

Any news Dove?
another thing you might be able to help me with...If I obtain an international driving permit to accompany my British Drive license, Will I be legally allowed to drive in Jordan

Ive asked the embassy, but they are useless at replying to emails!

Mismar

[Moderated: Post in housing section please]

Mismar

Hey Dove