Menu
Expat.com

Hanging out in SP...

Last activity 15 October 2012 by Harmonie

Tamzinha

Hi everyone

I am new to SP and hoping to meet some other expats/ Brazilians, to practise my terrible-but-improving Portuguese on, to hang out for drinks, maybe catch some live music, and get to know this amazing city... generally have some fun.

This week... Bourbon Street Jazz Festival sounds fun?

Cheers!

James

Hi Tammy,

Welcome to Expat-blog and to Brazil. You will love São Paulo for sure, there's so much to see and do. I am a Canadian who has been living in Brazil for over ten years now, many of them in São Paulo. I have just recently moved to Macaé - RJ, which is my wife's hometown.

Anything you need to know about Brazil and São Paulo you will be able to find out in my posts at the top of the first Brazil Forum page. If you need anything else just ask.

First thing you will want to do, if you haven't already done so, is stop off at the nearest Casa Lotérica or one of the bus loops (terminal) and buy a Bilhete Único (pass) keep it topped up with credits so you can get the most out of the transit system. It will allow you to use the buses, CPTM trains and the Metrô. It also allows transfers between buses and trains which cash fares do not. Use both Google Maps and the SPTrans website to plan routes. SPTrans doesn't always give the shortest route between two points so Google helps out on that score. Once you get used to the system then using Google Maps you can probably cut quite a bit from your travel time.

I'm sure you will make lots of new friends here on Expat-blog and of course you will meet many new people every day in São Paulo. It's a very easy place to make friends.

Cheers,
William James Woodward - Brazil Animator, Expat-blog

Tamzinha

Hi William

Thanks for your kind message (massively helpful too!), I am enjoying this crazy city so far but am keen to get out and meet some people.

Thanks again, and I will check out your other posts too.

Cheers, Thamsin