Is Vietnamese language tough to master?

Hi gals and guys, just wondering, anyone of you staying in Vietnam has ever taken up Vietnamese language?

Tough? Purely for business communication.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Henry

IMO, Tieng Viet is somewhat similar to Cantonese, not all though.

Some Cantonese words are of similar pronunciation as Tieng Viet, like ho chieu (Passport), chinh phu (Government) bao hiem (Insurance), etc. The lists goes on......:):)

Wow, Lee, you amazed me :)

I'm also a cantonese, so it should be added advantage.

I am getting want translation dictionary soon, hopefully this weekend.

Thanks.

henrylamcs wrote:

Wow, Lee, you amazed me :)

I'm also a cantonese, so it should be added advantage.

I am getting want translation dictionary soon, hopefully this weekend.

Thanks.

Im still an amateur in Tieng Viet.

Im Cantonese too. Interact more with Vietnamese & you'll learn Tieng Viet in no time, just like me learning Hokkien during NS. I picked that dialect during NS. I know nuts about it before that...:)

I think, vietnamese grammar is simple.
Pronunciation surprises foreigners just at the beginning (it doesn't matter for native American, Chinese, Thai, Russian, Dutch...after 1 month, it would be ok but it does for Japanese, Indian, Filipino)
Speaking Vietnamese is easy, but listening is rather tough.

Ha_vietnamese wrote:

I think, vietnamese grammar is simple.
Pronunciation surprises foreigners just at the beginning (it doesn't matter for native American, Chinese, Thai, Russian, Dutch...after 1 month, it would be ok but it does for Japanese, Indian, Filipino)
Speaking Vietnamese is easy, but listening is rather tough.

I beg to differ man. I cant understand a word unless I listen properly.....

wow, it's nice to hear that you guys are interested in Vietnamese. I'm a 100% Vietnamese. I am willing to help if you want to learn Vietnamese. I'm studying linguistics at the moment in Sydney but I will be back to HCMC soon.