Talking to Saudi Ladies

Hi all. I'm new to Riyadh and have gone shopping in the mall a few times since I've come here.  I generally avoid eye contact with Saudi ladies when I'm there. 

Last time I was there I went to buy a coffee at one of the stands.  This girl (in full burqa) who I hadn't noticed started talking to me.  "Where are you from?" "How long are you here?".  It was a very nice exchange and it ended pleasantly, but I thought that sort of thing was more or less forbidden. 

What is the norm over here?

are you sure it was a girl ? ;):lol:

but seriously, yours must be one of those rare encounters cos thats definitely not the norm.

why do things like that happen to everybody but me? :(

Change is surely a coming here ....

yes it happened to me once,but unfortunately the girl tried to talk to me in Arabic:( so i could not understand what she wanna talk about. That happened to me in Carrefour

hehehehe why we dun have "like " option here:(  i wanted to click like to Redglobin :(

Run Keanuuu RUN!

a woman in full burka and veil came up to me in a mall the other day and asked directions, i was amazed but unfortunately i didnt know the answer - some of the younger ones make eye contact and some of them walk by a few times to make sure you notice them :)

musicman wrote:

Change is surely a coming here ....

How ?

Oh damn! Or the more commonly Hindi film version.. "Nahiiiiiiiiiiiin", with echo effect!Now I am really mad, why dont I get any chance at all.. !!!

urgh!

@nonz: the like button was proposed earlier too.. hmmm.. wel looks like that will have to wait... back to being invisible..

xain wrote:

yes it happened to me once,but unfortunately the girl tried to talk to me in Arabic:( so i could not understand what she wanna talk about. That happened to me in Carrefour