How much time can I stay in the country after being fired?.

Hi,

I've been working for 2 years in a company here in Denmark, and the company fired some people, me included, I googled but couldn't find a definite answer, how much time can I stay in Denmark while looking for a new job?.

I'm a European citizen.

Thanks.

Never a good experience to be fired, but fortunately, this won't influent your residence permit, provided that you have registered unemployed at the municipal job centre. If not, do it at once.
https://www.retsinformation.dk/forms/R0 … ?id=137179
(§ 3 stk. 2 nr. 2)

Statsforvaltningen (the administrator of the resident permits) has this guidance on the law on page 22:
3.4.2 Uforskyldt arbejdsløshed efter mere end 1 års lønnet beskæftigelse

And remember, you are always welcome to contact Statsforvaltningen:
https://www.statsforvaltningen.dk/site.aspx?p=5466

Fingers crossed that you'll soon have a new job.

/Nellie

Nellie Berg wrote:

Never a good experience to be fired, but fortunately, this won't influent your residence permit, provided that you have registered unemployed at the municipal job centre. If not, do it at once.
https://www.retsinformation.dk/forms/R0 … ?id=137179
(§ 3 stk. 2 nr. 2)

Statsforvaltningen (the administrator of the resident permits) has this guidance on the law on page 22:
3.4.2 Uforskyldt arbejdsløshed efter mere end 1 års lønnet beskæftigelse

And remember, you are always welcome to contact Statsforvaltningen:
https://www.statsforvaltningen.dk/site.aspx?p=5466

Fingers crossed that you'll soon have a new job.

/Nellie

Hi, thanks a lot for the reply, I've read that section you mentioned, to clarify, would that mean that I can stay indefinitely in the country as long as I can sustain myself?, or do I have a certain maximum time to find a new job?. Thanks.

I suggest to you that you ask Statsforvaltningen. You can find the mail address here: https://www.statsforvaltningen.dk/site.aspx?p=8915