Qualified High School Teacher

My name is Pauline and I am a current secondary school teacher in New Zealand.
I am looking at moving to China - my only requirements is that I would like to work at an international school but I am open to anything.
I am single with no dependents so I am not fussed about placement but would like to be near a makor city if possible
Does any know what agencies to go through and also what I should accept as package eg. fares, housing, salary?

If you desire to work in China, the procedure is simple...

1.  Obtain a visitor visa to China.
2. Go to the city where your would prefer to live.
3. Interview face to face with the English schools there.
4. Obtain an offer or three, or four...
5. Select ONE.
6. follow their instructions in obtaining a Z-visa to work for them.

Of course you can apply online and take your chances on promises and all kinds of work-arounds. The people will tell... tell you that you can just do this and that and then work at their school. Do not listen to them. It is risky.

This is what you need to do. Nothing else.

Everything Vannrox has told you is correct...just one more point...you can't work on a visitor visa and to get a Z-visa you will have to go back to NZ and then come back to China which is an expense you may not want to incur.

You will need to have the following documents ahead of time or it can take up to 6 months to obtain a Z-visa now.

1. Valid passport with more than 6 months remaining and at least 2 blank pages for visas
2. BA degree in anything, this must be notarized and apostilled, then it will need the Chinese embassy stamp (done in your home country)
3. A TEFL (or your credentials if you are a real teacher) this too must be notarized and apostilled and stamped by your local Chinese embassy.
4. A criminal background check (must be done in your home country and good for 6 months) this too must be notarized and apostilled and stamped by the Chinese embassy.
5. A one-page CV keep it short please