Menu
Expat.com

Profession Not Changing

Last activity 19 October 2021 by XTang

usmanilyas14

Hi,
I came to KSA on project engineer visa in dec 2020 and my degree is BS Computer Science(4 years degree). I applied SCE membership but they granted temporary membership and asked to change my profession from project engineer to computer science related profession from labor office.
Labor office is not changing profession stating that all computer science related professions are reserved for saudi's due to saudization and also not changing to any other profession.

Arsal7
usmanilyas14 wrote:

Hi,
I came to KSA on project engineer visa in dec 2020 and my degree is BS Computer Science(4 years degree). I applied SCE membership but they granted temporary membership and asked to change my profession from project engineer to computer science related profession from labor office.
Labor office is not changing profession stating that all computer science related professions are reserved for saudi's due to saudization and also not changing to any other profession.

You can not change your profession other than your degree.
You can not downgrade your profession from any higher profession to labor or like that.
If you have any diploma in any other field then you can change your profession to that but if they caught you doing any other work then it will be a problem.
So, think carefully and do as the company HR says.
Talk to him.

Ricky Ricky

My iqama already expired and the profession is technician before my iqama was expired SCE upgraded my profession to Engineer, as per SCE my IQAMA needs to also my IQAMA to Engineer. the issue is as per our HR, Profession upgrade is closed and they can't upgrade my Iqama and renew it.

please share your feedback here. thanks

omairchouhan

Dear Ricky, is your issue resolved!? I have the same case, SCE changed my membership to Engineer and I must change the profession on Iqama too. I don’t know if it’s allowed or not?

Arsal7