Advice regarding building my own house.

Hello everyone,

Please could someone here advice what is required after acquisition of land to build the own house.

1.Boundary Wall → Is this shared or mine. If I build the wall all around my plot, then who maintains it. I will only see the wall inside my plot. What happens to the other side. Am I obliged to cement render it or just leave it as it is.How far from boundary line should this wall be build.

2.Any recommendations for 3D house designers .I have a plan what I would like to achieve, however i need a professional to put it on a paper and submit to the government department. As expected there are few charlatans in the field which I would like to avoid.

3.How high can I build the house if building only G+1 with pitched roof.

I would appreciated if someone could point me in the right direction as I have no experience of building in Mauritius.

@SvDb1923 i built my own house at camp caval floréal first it was handled by a contractor but was so disappointed that i have to take over my self get my workers pay them weekly now moving in next week maybe you can do the same

Good morning,

I can assist with 3 D presentations for your home as well as doing the working drawings from your sketch layouts'.

I practiced as an Architect in South Africa for the past 50 years so have a large amount of experience in the design and all aspects to the construction process but am not licensed to operate as an Architect in Mauritius as I am told that my qualifications do not meet with the requirements of the Architects Act in Mauritius.

I am however registered as an Architectural Draughts person in Mauritius so am allowed to do the 3D presentations and working drawings from your sketches.

I am semi-retired and somewhat bored at the moment and will be willing to assist at a very favorable rate. Also, I would like to get some more experience in the procedures adopted in Mauritius for the production if working drawings.