Rentals in Oaxaca ---

Hello everyone. This is my first post here. I'm seriously considering coming to Oaxaca in September planning to spend anywhere from six to twelve months. I'll be looking for a simple little studio apartment to rent. Nothing fancy--- I'm a veteran traveler who requires very little. Can anyone tell me if I could possibly find an apartment for US$250 per month or less? Thanks! Dennis~

deebee123 wrote:

Hello everyone. This is my first post here. I'm seriously considering coming to Oaxaca in September planning to spend anywhere from six to twelve months. I'll be looking for a simple little studio apartment to rent. Nothing fancy--- I'm a veteran traveler who requires very little. Can anyone tell me if I could possibly find an apartment for US$250 per month or less? Thanks! Dennis~

Welcome to ex-pat Mexico deebee,

So would that be your total amount ?  Because if it is , It wouldn't get past the Mexican consulate. If I were you I would check there first. Ask them what their minimum requirement is. if
you found a $250 rent then what ? how do you pay for everything else ? I would imagine that's only the amount you can allow for rent, but they will look at total income before deciding if you can live here.

I have a native friend who pays that much a month for  his home and he works to get the money  for food , electricity , cable etc. He works and gets help from his family. He's native and he can do that. Even so I help him pay his phone card when he can't come up with the money.

I think $250 is doable given your simplicity. Oaxaca is my first choice but based on my extensive research, comfortable modern apartments are a rarity, studios and rooms are plentiful and inexpensive. I may decide against Oaxaca since I am extremely concerned about water being trucked in. I prefer to live in modern building with lots of natural lighting vs unlit older buildings.

Encouraging! Thanks... Dennis~