Menu
Expat.com

Could i live off of $5000 a month ?

Last activity 21 June 2023 by DnBR

Dorothy Wooden

Hello everyone,

My name is Renni and I am very interested in visiting Belize. Within the next 3 years, I would like to call Belize home if all works out in my favor. Can you tell me a few things about Belize? I am a teacher. Could i live off of $5000 a month?

Bhavna

Hello Dorothy,

Welcome on board !

I have created a new thread from your post on the Belize forum so that members can provide you their feedback.

Visiting is indeed a good idea before making a decision. When is your trip due ?

All the best

Bhavna

Brigitte B
Hello everyone,
My name is Renni and I am very interested in visiting Belize. Within the next 3 years, I would like to call Belize home if all works out in my favor. Can you tell me a few things about Belize? I am a teacher. Could i live off of $5000 a month?
-@Dorothy Wooden

Hi Renni,

I would suggest that you spend a bit of time in each District, as they are all vastly different on every level.

May I also suggest not to put your financial situation on a public forum. Advertising your wealth may put your safety in jeopardy.

Happy planning!

jonestom747

@Dorothy Wooden lol in next few years? Can I live off $5000 you live most any were in the world off $5000 a month.

Hood63

Yes you could live pretty comfortably on 5000.00 u.s. per month you could get away with 3000.00 pretty well

Mike

DnBR

Belize per capita GPD is less than that per year, and Belizeans are happy people. FWIW the government rate in Belize for a person with a doctorate is $5-5.5k BZD per month. As you'll see, many things are very affordable, but many others are actually more expensive than where you moved from (no matter where that was). So it's hard to say, except that you'd be heads above most everyone. Unless you're someone who must have the newest iPhone, fashion, etc.

Articles to help you in your expat project in Belize

• Using phones in Belize