Helmets in VN

I'm probably going to be riding a scooter in VN wen I go there and I'm taking a class to get my motorcycle license before I leave for VN. So my question is, are the helmets in VN DOT or SNELL rated? Or only if I purchase imported helmets like Bell, Shoei, HJC,... will they have ratings?

Thanks

I am no expert in this matter, but friends have said to me that you can get a better helmet overseas, one that's rated and certified. You can buy them in VN, but you'll pay a price and fakes are everywhere. So watch out.

@Lennerd

Thanks for the tips

I bought one at one of the bike shops geared to expats. You pay the price, but it isn't more expensive then buying it back at home.

Looking at the size of it I wouldn't bother bringing one unless your shipping a container or something :-)

@RCP79

Thanks!

Depends where you will be, but Vietfullface, 214 Võ Văn Tần, Phường 5, Quận 3, Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh, have reasonable priced helmets, LS2, Yohe, HJC etc.

You can find their website at their name dotCOM. They'll deliver if you want, but best to try on.

There's other foreign owned outfits like DC Motor and Saigon Motorcycles selling similar. Always a little more expensive, and don't seem to have the such high turnover.

I ride a mid sized Honda motorbike, a dirt bike and a scooter. Around 20,000, 6000, and 4000 km respectively per year around Vietnam.

I'm all the gear all the time on the Honda and the dirt bike. On the scooter it's flip flops and usually a 3/4 from HJC.

Whichever, I've been happy with the 6 or 7 helmets I've brought from them over here.

@MyGuess

Thanks! I'll be moving to Da Nang.

@qnbui

When are you going there?

All four of us (me, wife, 2 daughters) all wear "Royal" brand. Available in better helmet stores and via Lazada.

I got my 2XL size via Lazada shipped to Hội An from a vendor in HCMC.

inshot_20240329_1521155932645983450146928073.jpg

@qnbui

Take a look at this site with reviews of helmets available in VN.