Hi From USA

I'm Corp from USA, I think I will travel to VN soon on my first visit.

I am considering living there for a while if it works out.

In the past, I have been to a number of countries in the military and doing volunteer work through churches. 

I'm not worried but its my first time in an Asian country and I have zero language skills and learning new languages does not come easy. 

I thought I might ask questions here and seek advice as needed.

Thanks for this platform.

-@Dannyroc3

Although our forum search function leaves something to be desired, the forum archives can sometimes be a useful research tool, especially for frequently asked questions.

Welcome

O.B.

I'm Corp from USA, I think I will travel to VN soon on my first visit.

Congratulations on your upcoming visit! I've mentioned to others that it's like no other place on the planet.

I am considering living there for a while if it works out.

Not quite sure what you mean by "works out". Will you be here as a tourist/visitor? If so, and if you're comfortable with doing what's colloquially know as a "border run" at the end of each eVisa's validity, it's certainly doable.

In the past, I have been to a number of countries in the military and doing volunteer work through churches. 
I'm not worried but its my first time in an Asian country and I have zero language skills and learning new languages does not come easy.

The language barrier can certainly be an issue, especially so in Vietnam's rural and even in the lower tier cities. Do you have a city picked yet as your starting point?

-@Dannyroc3

Good to have you with us. Lots of friendly folk on the forum ready to help.

Looking forward to hearing, and hopefully being able to answer, your questions.

-@Dannyroc3

Hello.

There are many ways to express what we want to say. By language, body language, and by...translation apps.

You can install "Google translate" app for speaking translating, and "Google lens" app for text/photo translating.