F-card cohabitation and break-up

Hello everyone,

I've been reading online a lot and have found similar questions but would like to ask this question here with my details. Also if you were in a similar situation, please share how it went.

Here is my situation. I came to Belgium 4 years ago in September 2020, my first year I was a student, 1 more year on job-search visa and 2 years working full time with F card. I have an indefinite contract and pay mutuality.

In October 2020 I started a relationship with an EU citizen and in May 2022 we became legal partners through legal cohabitation. I then applied for an F card and received my F card end of March 2023.

So in total  4 years in Belgium, almost 4 years together, of which 2 years and 3 months legal cohabitation.

Now my boyfriend broke up with me. Do I have any good chances for staying in Belgium?

When we separate and move to different addresses, would that automatically ignite an investigation into our situation? Would it make any sense to ask him to not cancel the legal partnership until  May 2025 when we'll have three years of legal partnership, but would live separetely anyway?

Good afternoon.

The law states that in order not to automatically lose your right to reside, the partnership must indeed last at least 3 years, and you must be able to prove that you have housing and financial means or employment.

However, the law does not explicitly say that your residence permit will be unconditionally and automatically revoked in the event of  termination of the partnership. Three years of cohabitation only helps to meet one of the conditions for retaining your residence permit. Therefore, the immigration office will still assess the situation before making a decision. If you can convince DVZ (Immigration Office) of your intentions, you have a good chance of retaining your right to reside, although the type of card will change (it will be an A card instead of F).