Menu
Expat.com

Moving to Tripoli with kids?

Last activity 19 October 2011 by Masterr

Ayshah

Hi!

I am a teacher and mother of two. My kids are half-libyan so I am planning to move to Libya and work there for sometime so the children would know their another home country as well. That, of course, is not happening until there's safe in Tripoli, but I am already planning smile.png so I would like to ask if it is even possible for a single woman with kids to live in Libya? Is there day care for kids (mine are 5yrs and 3 yrs)? What about renting home? Any information is important, so I can make decision if  I will plan it further or is it just impossible. smile.png

Siddiqui

Where are you moving from and what do you teach?

You are Libyan so the best option would be to ask family in Libya for their guidance as they would know the situation much better than expats would. Same goes for the issue of renting apartments and arranging childcare.

International School of Martyrs (also known as Oil School I think) is expected to open from Sunday the 16th. They would be interested in hiring qualified teachers who are bilingual in Arabic and English.

If you have good English command, you will have no problem finding a job is schools or even offices.

Good luck with your move.

Siddiqui

Ayshah

Hi!

Thanks for your reply! I am not Libyan, but my children are as their father is from Libya. My children don't have Libyan nationalities though.

I was hoping to move to Tripoli as my children's grandparents and other relatives live there. I haven't contacted them yet since they have a very subjective opinion about the safety: they would tell me to come now smile.png There's also a language barrier as they speak only Arabic and my Arabic skills are pretty poor.

I am a pre-school teacher and have a masters degree in early childhood education so I could teach in university or a school for teachers as well.