Menu
Expat.com

Nothing but the shirt on my back...

Last activity 03 June 2012 by Jamiebrwstr

Jamiebrwstr

I am considering a move to Costa Rica within the next year.  I am 27 years old and would bring  just myself and a few possessions. I am a landscaper by trade and am unsure how I would support myself once I move there.

Does anyone have any advice? Am I crazy for thinking of doing this?  Honestly I really need a positive change from the day by day, monotonous life I have been living.  I am very adventurous, self reliant, confident, and up for a challenge.

Thanks

GuestPoster455

high-cost of living in Costa rica; I lived there for three months in San Jose. Beautiful coasts; high gas prices also.

TerrynViv

Keep in mind that you cannot work in any way shape or form until you achieve permanent residency (minimum of three years but probably closer to five).  You can own your own company but you cannot perform any work yourself until permanent.

crenvy

Jamiebrwstr,

You could start a landscaping company and manage all the workers you want, legally. There is no point in an experienced landscaper doing the work himself when he can hire peones for about 2 bucks an hour who will work hard and long. There is plenty of work you could do like that for ex-pats.

Also, anyone here can "perform work" w/o residency. They just can't legally get a job for an employer, but believe me people do it all the time anyway. This is basically a cash-based economy, which makes that easy to do. No one is going to throw you in jail for doing free-lance landscaping on a cash basis.

Good grief, if the farmers down here had to set up corporations and pay for accounting, etc. they would starve.