ISLA language school

Hi all!

I found an old thread about language learning options but decided to make one about this school only...   

My goals are to improve my Spanish so that I can eventually work in my field (healthcare) in Puerto Rico.  Living in Palmas Del Mar is lovely but there is so much English here that I often take the easy way out and don't even try to speak Spanish. 

I studied Spanish inconsistently for several years and even lived in Spain for a summer but it's been a decade since I've used Spanish much and the sound of Spanish is quite different here anyway.  I've used DuoLingo for months and also listened to the Language Transfer course that people have recommended here.

I've researched options a bit and decided to try out a week of the Spanish immersion classes at ISLA in San Juan.  The cost seems reasonable for what you get, $330 for 15hrs of small group immersion class and some afternoon activities as well.  You can add on private lessons as well and if you take multiple weeks of classes the cost goes down.  You can also do a home stay for $200 or less per week.  I elected to stay at an Airbnb this time as my husband is coming with me but I may do the homestay in the future if I like the program.

The ISLA staff have been great at answering my questions and also have been very flexible with scheduling since I do not need the homestay this time. 

I'm really looking forward to it and will update after the class with my thoughts.

Wish you great success, it is not easy to learn a new language, I know, I had to learn English where the word order are reversed sometimes.

It took years to be fluent. Now I do not translate, I think in whichever language I am speaking at the moment and dream in both languages.