Menu
Expat.com

Warning Tips for someone visiting Ho Chi Minh

Last activity 09 October 2019 by Brick23

Trax77

Ill be in Ho Chi Minh from 9-29 until 10-7.

Any advice/warnings/common scams you can give me as it is my first time in Vietnam?

Much Appreciated!

Ciambella

Vietnam is not much different than many other countries.  If you've travelled abroad before, then you should've/would've known about the normal tips and precautions -- have your phone unlocked before your departure if you plan to buy a local SIM, keep your belongings close to your body, watch out for rogue taxis, drink bottled water, keep small bills and large bills in different pockets, etc.

Unlike the gypsies in Rome, the smartphone peddlers in Napoli, the gemstone "distributors" in India and Thailand, the gift givers throughout Europe, the helpful "tour guides" in Central and South America, the Gucci's bag sellers in New York, the fake cops in Mexico, etc., there isn't a particular scam that scream out "You're in Vietnam now!"

Just be aware of your surroundings, don't fall for a beautiful woman, don't go to karaoke bars, and just because beer is cheap, don't get drunk.

OceanBeach92107
Trax77 wrote:

Any advice/warnings/common scams you can give me as it is my first time in Vietnam?

Much Appreciated!

Beware of people who are not willing to spend the time searching this forum for information that has already been posted

jayrozzetti23

The only thing I can recall that happened to me personally is a taxi that had a rigged meter years ago. The fare was increasingly at an abnormally fast rate, so I told the driver to stop and let me out, then paid him whatever it said. We hadn't traveled very far.

Another thing that is still around are the shoeshine boys in the main tourist area. Apparently, some of them will damage your shoe then stick some glue on it and try to charge you some absurd amount.