ILA offer

For an experienced teacher (I've taught in China, South Korea and my home country Australia) is ILA a good place to start in Vietnam? Can you get consecutive days off during the week or not? Do they provide company shirts or do you have to wear a business shirt and tie (I don't mind but I sweat a lot in the heat)? I think the pay is around 35-40 million per month for 80 hours; after taxes and rent how much can I potentially save per month? I was going to join them earlier this year however things came up in Australia which stopped me (along with reading negative reviews about the school). I did recently travel to Vietnam and I really liked it.

I'm 42, single and I have a BA degree, TESOL Certificate and I also have an MA in Primary Teaching (I don't mind teaching ESL to kids, I tried K-6 Primary teaching in Australia and I hated it so I don't think I'll ever do International school work).  I have taught children in Korea and China (but ESL only to adults as part of an ELICOS program). My school in Australia is about to nosedive in December and I'm considering offers from ILA, Apax, WSE and a public school (all in HCMC or nearby areas). I'm also considering WSE for a few reasons however I believe their hourly pay isn't great (maybe I'm wrong). I appreciate any information from current or ex-teachers from ILA (or anyone else who knows ILA or the other schools).

Although  it is a great idea to network with schools online before arriving, for Vietnam, you should come look for work in-country, so that you can talk with HR/management staff directly, see the facilities, hang out with other teachers, etc.

None of the English schools in VN have much of a reputation and are used to heavy turnover. Demand is high but so is supply, so if they lose a teacher, they just get another one.  Based on your experience in China and Korea, I'm sure you understand that TEFL is an profit-driven industry.