Paying off the loan

is it possible that i can only pay the principal amount of the loan ? For example. I have a loan of 3000 bhd i have been paying for 5 months no delay of 100bhd that amounts to 500 bhd. Can i only pay 2500bhd ?that is the balance of exactly what i owe ? Will they waive everything since there is pandemic and i was layed off by the company ?
Please advise and respect thanks.

Hello,
You will need to read the rules and regulations on which you have singed, particularly 'pre closure rules'. Getting in touch with the bank is the best way to get the correct information

T&R

You will have to negotiate with the bank and see what they say.  But as a general principle, you signed for the loan and interest so they don't have to waive off anything if they don't want to - no matter what has happened.

I think they are offering a settlement closure on the loan as a option now.

I have a loan with Citibank, and i opted for a deferral program when i was stuck back in India due to the flights ban. They got back to me with 2 options. One, to proceed with deferral. Two, to close the loan account with a settlement which includes waiving off the partial amount in the total outstanding balance.

Get in touch with the bank and talk to them about your settlement preference.

Note: Having a loan closed on settlement basis will have a remark in your credit report which may be a issue for you when you are applying for a new loan in the future.

Dear customer

Citibank has always endeavored to be supportive to their clients and be part of solutions to their needs. Particularly in the current COVID-19 situation - we have ensured we respond to need of the hour by assisting clients with financial difficulties enroll onto payment deferral programs. This has allowed our clients to defer their payment obligations for a brief period, giving them time to plan and prioritize their financial needs