How to become a nurse as a foreigner from non-EU

Hi,

I am a Student Nurse from South Korea and am planning to live in Netherlands from next year, after my graduation in March, 2023. I was wondering if I need any nursing experience in South Korea to become a nurse in Netherlands.

Any help will be appreciated.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

Your diploma will need to be accepted by the BIG register (link).

One important part of the process is that you will have to be able to speak Dutch at a very high level before they will accept your diploma.  There is a similar requirement across the EU, you will need to speak that country's language.

I hope this helps.

Cynic

Expat Team

@Cynic

First of all, thank you so much for your reply

then it's not mandatory to have job experience in my home country?

I just don't want to have any job experience in South Korea, wanna move asap.

Hi again.

You're conflating 2 different things - Immigration requirements and professional qualifications, they are not linked.

Once you are registered on the BIG register, you can then work in one of the 12 healthcare professions you may be qualified in. Follow the link I sent you and go through the process, you will know at the end what actions you need to take to enable you to work as a Nurse in the Netherlands.

Previous relevant experience will be a key part of any employer's consideration they make of your application to work there, not only in nursing.