Looking for a bulgarski residence permit above 90 days

Hello everyone im a French guy renting a long term  apartment in Varna , i like this country and respect it a lot, i am looking for a bulgarski resident long term  permit.

i am looking to register to the national health system because i heard this was mandatory but i have trouble finding about it, also i have an europeean social security card that i asked in France, and they delivered it to me, i also asked French governement for a criminal record check , and mine came virgin.

So,i am a new guy in Bulgaria trying to obtain residence permit above 90 days.

Maybe you guys can nudge me in the right direction ?

i am a freelancer also and looking to open an individual company.

I wish everyone here the best in their life.

@cogaho9887

Welcome to the expat.com forum and good luck with the move to Bulgaria!

It's a great country, I'm very happy here. It's especially good for digital nomads / remote workers because of the low cost of living and low taxation (10%).

And, lucky you, it's easy-peasy for EU citizens! You can work, study, retire (or hang out on the beach) in any EU country thanks to EU "Freedom of Movement". It's recommended that you do an "EU Citizen Registration" at your local immigration office. It just needs proof of funds (I used a copy of my debit card), proof of health insurance (either your French EHIC or a cheap Bulgarian Health Insurance for Foreigners for about 100 euros), and proof of address (your long-term rental contract + landlord declaration). They will issue a plastic biometric residence permit and ID card valid for 5 years.

EU citizens don't need a criminal record check. And the whole process is pretty straightforward (should have your card within a couple of days). However, I think it's worth taking a helper/translator with you (mine charges about 50 leva per hour, and immigration offices have big lines unless you're up very early).