Snail mail from Canada (or anywhere) to China

How long should a letter take?

I've been waiting 78 days for a letter from Canada.

Thank you for the quick and helpful reply.

The address was written entirely in Chinese except for the bottom line which said "China". I figured that way, it would get out of Canada and then be entirely readable in China. However, I may have made a mistake. Canada would want to know which entry port to send it to, so adding the province and country in English may have helped.

All letters are supposed to come to our baoans or management office. This is my first letter here, so I have no experience in how well they handle that.

I don't know about pre- and post-pandemic patterns.

So, did you have snail mails that simply never arrived?

I will indeed get a resend, this time via DHL.

Thank you kindly!!

Hello,

As you figured out yourself, the address should be written in an international way, that is, receiving country and city in Latin letters (not in English, but in the official transliteration, which is not necessarily Pinyin for Chinese cities!). “China” as the receiving country is also misleading! Yep, I am pointing to that island in the sun which is officially called “China”, too!

For me, receiving letters in mainland China from Europe, the best way was:

• Use standard (national) post. Do not use express companies, as you may have to deal with additional fees in China.
  • Ask the sender to use the international address code (see Wikipedia) to print out the address in the correct formatting.
  • Add Chinese mobile phone number of the receiver.
  • Letters can only contain paper, (flat) USB data sticks, credit cards and similar small things. All “goods” (CDs, DVDs, books, ...) should be sent as a parcel with a tax declaration attached to the outside!
  • Letters to schools / big companies are slightly faster delivered than to a (personal) home address.