Moving to Beziers this autumn.

Hello,  I am new to this site so please excuse me until I find my way around. 

My husband and I are hoping to get retirement visas from the French Consulate in London in June and then move to Beziers in early September.

Are there any other expats in Beziers that have done something similar who would be happy to discuss the pitfalls and high points of doing this.

We don't know anyone in the area so would be appreciative of any help offered.

Thank you.

@cyd2706 I am uneasy about your plans to try to get a visa from the French embassy in London.  Many years ago i did the same and was refused a visa after a long delay.  sometime later, I moved to France and went through the process here.  I have now been living in France for many years currently with a ten year Carte de Sejour which will outlive me.  I am not an expert about the brexit business, but we have helpful staff in the Prefecture in Beziers.  I currently live 10 kms from Béziers, but will be moving there May 3rd.  I would be happy to help and advise you.  I  speak fluent French.  Chris Ward.

Hi Chris,

We will be doing the online application first and then we may or may not be called up at the Consulate after if they feel they need more information.

I moved to France (the first time) in 1995 and everything was very simple.  We have been told that it is pretty much the same now.  They want to check that we have enough money to rent, and as we have 5 different pensions between us that should be fine.  We need to get a health insurance and we will also ask for the S1 certificate which should speed up our medical payments if needed.

However, we will be delighted to keep in touch and tell you how we are getting on, and hope to meet up with you when we arrive.

Richard and Tracy Slade (everyone calls me Cyd)

I wish you good luck and we can keep in touch and perhaps meet up when you are  installed in Béziers.

Chris

Hi @cyd2706,