Health insurance requirement at SEF

Hey guys,

So I moved to Porto in December 2023 from Africa and my SEF appointment is scheduled for April 2024 according to my D visa. I am a digital nomad or freelancer working remotely you can say.

Before my Visa interview back home, I had presented a travel insurance from AxaMansard that is valid from October 2023 to October 2024 and it has medical cover $150k USD in it's terms.

I have read many blogs that says you can't use a travel insurance at SEF appointment. Is this true? Is my travel insurance policy with health cover valid for SEF?

My questions:

1. Which health insurance company or broker did you use for your first SEF appointment?

2. What is the minimum number of months the Health insurance must cover for SEF approval?

Any low cost health insurance insurance in Portugal you can recommend, considering that I already spent a lot on this travel?

Suggestions from your experience will be appreciated.

The health insurance is always an yearly cover.

Alternatively you can register at SNS (public health system) at your local health center.

@Nia Queiroz  I started living in Portugal January 2024 but my visa is valid for 120 days (that's till April 2024 - the initial 120 days on D visa). I understand that is the normal situation and I have to attend my SEF appointment in April 2024 as written on my Visa.

If I am going to use the yearly health insurance option as you suggested, would it be advisible to pay for April 2024 to April 2025  so as to plan it on my SEF appointment as that will elongate the validity period of the insurance. Or does the insurance has to cover from January 2024 to December 2024?