Menu
Expat.com

Registering as a personal trainer in Brazil

Last activity 01 July 2024 by Chris UK/Scotland

Chris UK/Scotland

I am a British citizen and a registered physiotherapist in the UK.

I am interested in post graduate study in Brazil and would like to work alongside this.

Can anyone help me with the relevant rule?

I'm thinking of working as a personal trainer, I have many years of experience,  in the UK, and multuple qualifications.

Is it possible to pick up part time or freelance work.

What registrations would I need?

Would working as a physiotherapist also be possible?

Thanks

KenAquarius

Hi Chris,

I think you are going to hear this from pretty much everyone who answers.

Trying to find meaningful work in Brazil is very difficult for a foreigner.

First of all you need the correct visa. Can't work without it.

Second, you must speak, read, and write Portuguese as a reasonably high level.

Third, just know there is a basic "rule" in Brazil, and that is they will only hire a foreigner,

if they can't find a suitable Brazilian.

These things are just my observations, but I think they are valid. Someone else might disagree.

I was always told, if you move to Brazil, bring your money with you.

roddiesho

@Chris UK/Scotland, @KenAquarius

I tried real hard but I couldn't say it any better. You have to be in a position to work in Brazil before you really can concern yourself with your specialty. It will take some time to be able to work in Brazil.

Roddie in Retirement1f575.svg

Chris UK/Scotland

Thanks for getting back to me.

Assuming I can get a visa, and my portuguese is adequate would it be possible to work in a self employed capacity?

Does anyone know the specifics of fitness industry registration or qualification requirements?

Would a student Visa allow me to work too?

KenAquarius

Can’t work on a student visa.

Chris UK/Scotland

@KenAquarius

Fair enough.

Thanks.

KenAquarius

You might look into the ”digital nomad“ Visa   

roddiesho